Board of Education Meeting
Monday, July 15, 2024 @ 7:00pm
Brass Castle Media Center

Clubs & Activities

2023-2024 Clubs – Permission slips are provided by the club advisor with meeting dates included on the permission slip. Updates occur throughout the school year. Please check back, regularly!

All clubs require parent permission slips PRIOR to attending. Students should see the respective teacher-advisor to obtain the permission slip. Please note, most clubs have a specific time-frame for signing up and a minimum/maximum number of participants.  Late registrants will be accommodated, if possible, at the discretion of the advisor.  All clubs will require parent transportation.

6th Grade students are required to have a completed Preparticipation Physical Evaluation (PPE) with additional forms to participate in any physical activity/sports club. See the Health Offices page – 6th Grade Requirements for more information.

Archery Club – 6th Grade – Brass Castle – All Seasons Advisor: Mr. Scism (sscism@washtwpsd.org) Students will learn and strengthen archery skills, with an opportunity to participate in local and national level competitions.

Band (Instrumental) – 5th & 6th Grades – Brass Castle – All Seasons
Advisor: Mr. Schepis (tschepis@washtwpsd.org)
Students will rehearse and perform elementary band repertoire with an emphasis on ensemble sound and musicianship. Students will learn note reading, rhythm reading and other skills.

Calm & Cool Kids – Yoga Club – 4th & 5th Grades – Brass Castle – TBD
Advisor: Mr. Schepis (sschepis@washtwpsd.org)
Students will be lead in slow yoga flows/poses, while developing mindfulness skills to calm and center the mind.

Chess Club – 4th, 5th & 6th Grades – Brass Castle – Winter 2024
Advisor: Mrs. Drevitch (cdrevitch@washtwpsd.org)
Students in grades 4 – 6 will strengthen their strategy development skills and work toward earning a spot to compete in a chess tournament, with other schools. 

Chorus – 5th & 6th Grades – Brass Castle – All Seasons
Advisor: Mr. Schepis (tschepis@washtwpsd.org)
Students will rehearse and perform classic and contemporary musical pieces. Students will learn note reading, rhythm reading, and other skills. Anticipated performances at the Winter and Spring Concerts.

Game/Craft Club – Kindergarten – Brass Castle – TBD
Advisor: Mrs. Wilhelm (swilhelm@washtwpsd.org)
Students will have an opportunity to strengthen their team-building, social, and communication skills, while playing various games and participating in art activities.  This club will run from January through February.  Some games may be played outside!

Girls Running Club – 4th, 5th & 6th Grades – Brass Castle – Spring Season
Advisors: Mrs. Peterson (speterson@washtwpsd.org) and Mrs. Hawk (lhawk@washtwpsd.org)
Grades 4 – 6 students will participate in a fun after-school running club for girls. Any ability can join; your competition is yourself.  Try to improve your own running ability. 

Robotics Club – 6th Grade – Brass Castle – Fall Season / Spring Season
Advisors: Mrs. Drevitch (cdrevitch@washtwpsd.org), Mrs. Galoppo (lgaloppo@washtwpsd.org), & Ms. Mahon (mmahon@washtwpsd.org)
Students will build and program Lego robots, in teams and participate in local county competition.

Senior & Community Program – 6th Grade – Brass Castle – All Seasons
Advisors: Miss Meier (mmeier@washtwpsd.org) & Mrs. Pierson (bpierson@washtwpsd.org)
Students in 6th Grade will work toward making connections with community area senior citizens and organizations. The program is made possible by the Washington Township Board of Education, Education Association, teachers, and support staff.

Sports Club – 4th Grade – Brass Castle – Fall Season
Advisor: Mr. Scism (sscism@washtwpsd.org)
Coed opportunity for students in 4th grade to play a variety of sports, including basketball, flag football, soccer, and more. 

Harassment, Intimidation, & Bullying (HIB)


Beginning with the September 2011-2012 school year, our district has conscientiously implemented the requirements in the Anti-Bullying Bill of Rights Act. For additional information please click the Read More button.

READ more